Governor Hyacinth Alia, has charged the Local Government Interim Executive Council Chairmen in the state, to ensure they deliver quality services to the people at the local level.

The governor gave the charge during the swearing in ceremony of the Local Government Interim Executive Council Chairmen, held at the Benue State Government House Makurdi, on Thursday, June 6th, 2024.

Recall that the governor had written to the Benue State House of Assembly, requesting for extension of the tenure of the Local Government Interim Executive Council Committees to allow the Benue State Independent Electoral Commission (BSIEC), enough time to prepare and conduct the Local Government Council elections in the state.

The State House of Assembly had on Thursday, screened and confirmed the list of nominees sent to them by the governor, replacing only Mr. Timothy Hembaor, the earlier nominee from Ushongo Local government area, with Hon. Mvendaga Atetan.

The governor had while performing the swearing-in ceremony, charged the Chairmen to forfeit excuses and serve their Local Government Areas diligently, in order to ensure their work reflects the manifesto of the All Progressives Congress (APC), in the state.

He urged them to give their best, especially as his administration has granted autonomy to the local governments, asking them to remain at their various duty posts, attending to the needs of the local people and ensuring they enjoy the dividends of democracy.

He challenged them to copy the infrastructural strides at the state level down to the local government level, saying it is his administration’s plan to ensure such infrastructural developments are replicated at the third tier of government in the state.

Responding on behalf of the Chairmen, the Chairman of Konshisha Local Government Area, Hon. Philip Achuah, assured the governor that they will do their best to replicate his efforts at the local government level.

He appreciated the governor for granted quasi autonomy to the local government system in the state, promising not to fail in their respective duties.

The newly inaugurated Caretaker Committee Chairmen are Hon. Guda Terkimbi Dennis (Vandeikya), Hon. Philip Achuah (Konshisha), Hon. Shaku Justine (Katshina Ala), Hon. Neji Vitalis Terhile (Kwande), Hon. Avar Verlumun (Gboko), Hon. Roy Terna Ashirga (Tarka), Hon. Agber Cephas (Buruku), Hon. James Dwem (Makurdi), Hon. Mrs Comfort Agbo (Gwer East), Hon. Henry Agba (Gwer-West), Hon. Unongo Simon (Guma) Hon. Mvendaga Atetan (Ushongo) and Hon. Iorzaa Victor (Ukum).

Others are Hon. Benjamin Uzenda (Logo), Hon. Mrs Gloria Ogebe (Ado), Hon. Barr. Philip Ebenyaku (Agatu), Hon. Ochai Alidu (Apa), Hon. Adekpe Onum (Obi), Hon. Emmanuel Agada Aba (Ogbadibo), Hon. Adugbo Idoko Fred (Ohimini), Hon. Dr. Wilson Eche (Otukpo), Hon. Onyilo Douglas Omale (Okpokwu) and Hon. Ire Arubi (Oju).

Sir Kula Tersoo, MNIPR,

Chief Press Secretary.

Add Your Comment